Unnecessary use of tagging in Facebook statuses

Updating one’s Facebook status is the new method the cool kids use to broadcast to all their friends where they are, what (or who) they are doing, what they’re thinking or feeling, what they’re eating, what they’re wearing, and pretty much any other random thing that you can think of. I like updating my status because it forces people to see what I have to say and it gives me the false impression that people like me when they click “Like”. (As an aside, isn’t the “Like” button great? You can use it to respond to something without even thinking about what to say! Someone posted a status that’s funny but you’re too lazy to commend them on it? Just click “Like”! Someone posted a comment on your wall, photo or status and you can’t be bothered replying? Just click “Like!” Someone posted a status about being depressed or in physical agony? Just click “Like”!)

Anyway, the point of this post was to discuss the inappropriate use of tagging people in statuses. The tagging feature is a useful tool when writing a status to get a specific person/people’s attention, such as announcements, questions or for embarrassing someone. However, I’ve observed some very amusing status-tagging habits that people tend to do…

“I had such a fun night with @tag, @tag, @tag, @tag!! Tehehehe!!”

I admit, I did this once or twice when they first introduced the tagging on Facebook and I wanted to be cool and prove to everyone that I really did go out with friends in real life, contrary to popular belief. But I’ve since learned not to unnecessarily burden people’s Notifications inbox, as well as everyone’s news feeds because the truth is – nobody truly cares that I indeed have a life and that I do go out with people who are my Facebook friends.

Now, every time I see this sort of status, I wonder … are people trying to reassure the tagged friends that they had a good time? Are you really that much of an emotionless drone that the people you are with can’t tell that you’re enjoying yourself? Do you go home and think to yourself, “Boy, I don’t think I was smiling enough today … and damn it, I forgot to say ‘I am presently having fun’. Now that I think about it, I forgot to say ‘I am presently eating a sandwich’ as I ate my sandwich. Gosh, I better make my friends feel better about themselves by informing them that I had fun tonight just in case they thought I wasn’t having fun! Maybe they’ll appreciate it even more since I’m advertising to all my friends that they aren’t boring!”

Let’s face it, the only people who even remotely care about these statuses are the people who are tagged in them. I reckon even the tagged people don’t really care, therefore they just “Like” the status because they can’t be arsed doing anything else, but still want to give the status writer the satisfaction that their proclamations of having-fun-ness did not go unheard. If you haven’t noticed, 99% of the time, the tagged people don’t respond to the status with anything relevant, but you do get the occasional ‘I had fun too’.

However, I’m sure a lot of other people do find this status useful when they discover that they have been excluded from the fun. I actually find it very amusing when someone writes a status about how much fun they had with such and such, and then some poor person comments with “Why wasn’t I invited??” Suddenly the status writer doesn’t want to yap on about such a great time they had anymore after that. Good old Facebook, you’ll never let us down when it comes to destroying other people’s self esteem.

In my opinion, if you’re a person who is open enough about informing the online world about something like having a good time with your friends, then don’t be discriminatory! You should also have no problem broadcasting what a shitty time you had with your friends!

Oh and then there are people who write a status about their present fun with other people as opposed to their past fun, e.g. “Is having so much fun getting wasted at XYZ Night Club with @person, @person, @person”. I only have one question: if you’re having sooo much fun with your present  company, why do you feel the need to log onto Facebook? Shouldn’t you be too busy having fun?

“Thank you so much @tag, @tag for the fun night!”

Similar to the above status, except the writer has instead thanked the friends for a good time. I don’t have anything against expressing gratitude, but expressing it in a public domain is very unnecessary. Of course, only the select few people who have been tagged out of the hundreds of friends that you have will even remotely care about this status, so why can’t you just thank the person/people personally? Sure, I love it when my friends invite me over to their place but do I go running down the street screaming “THANK YOU FOR THE WONDERFUL TIME, BOB!!!!” when I’m done?

Besides, isn’t a personal thanks on the spot much more effective than a bunch of words on the screen that the person will see much later? Is it because you just can’t bring yourself to open your mouth and say “Thank you” there and then that you have to resort to hiding behind a screen so they can’t see how full of gratitude your face is? I guess it’s true that the internet is causing social dysfunction if people can’t even say a simple “thank you” face-to-face.

And if you’re going to argue that you did in fact say thank you in real life and just felt the need to extend your wonderful sense of gratitude to the whole world for a nice meal or something, do you really need to be a drama queen? Your friend let you stay at their place for a few hours, they didn’t give you a freaking kidney. But I suppose we all, deep down, want to feel like we’ve just won a Grammy and publicly thank our friends … too bad Facebook is just like the Grammys, where most of the audience doesn’t know who the hell the thanked people are nor do they care that you’re thanking them.

Perhaps if it’s a one-off event for a relatively big favour or for something meaningful, it’s forgivable. But thanking someone for hanging out with you is just a little sad … if you were truly friends, then the thanks is implied and doesn’t need to be advertised all over the Internet.

“I ♥ @boyfriend/girlfriend xoxo”

Nice to see that you have some kind of amorous feelings for your significant other. None of us knew that at all, especially your significant other which is why you tagged them, isn’t it? And the only way that they would believe that you love them is by effectively telling every person you know through Facebook, just in case anyone was under the impression that you do not love your girlfriend/boyfriend. I think your next status should be about how much you ♥ breathing, just so we all know you aren’t thinking of suffocating yourself. Don’t forget to tag Oxygen and your Lungs so that they know you appreciate them.

I can’t think of anymore at the moment, but feel free to add any type of status updates that you find annoying.

More stuff that I say

About lildoro

I'm a uni student who procrastinates way too much. I like saying stuff about things.

Posted on April 3, 2011, in Mindless Dribble and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. First of all I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I’ve had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Cheers!

    • Hmm, I can’t tell if this is a spambot or not but I pulled it out of the spam filter anyway just because it looks like a legitimate question =p But if this is legit, thanks for reading and commenting on my blog 🙂

      To be honest, I don’t really clear my mind before writing… as long as I have an idea of what I want to write about, I just sit at my computer and let the verbal diarrhea flow. Whatever comes to my mind, I write it. And then I go back, re-organise it and edit it so that it’s a bit more coherent and structured.

      If you have trouble getting started, just be sure you have a topic in mind that you can talk about at lengths, something you are passionate about. Once you write a sentence or two, it’ll be very easy from then on.

      Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

